Wisdom Tales-The Tiger’s Whisker Comic

 

 

 

 

Over the past three months, I have been reading an ebook called Wisdom Tales by Heather Forest. Wisdom Tales is a collection of myths, fables, and parables. Once I finished reading, I made a comic out of one of the stories. I chose The Tiger’s Whisker because my favorite animals are tigers and it was the perfect length.

The Tiger’s Whisker is about a woman whose husband returns from war with no love. She goes to a wise man to ask for a love potion and he demands a tiger’s whisker. She leaves meat near a tiger in the woods every day, getting closer and closer each day until it allows her to sit right next to it. She waits for the tiger to fall asleep and cuts off one of its whiskers. She gives it to the wise man who asks her how she got it. She explains and he throws the whisker in the fire. He tells her that if she can tame a tiger, she can melt her husband’s icy heart. The moral is to be patient and you will almost get your way in life.

In order to draw these characters, my grade attended a lesson from Brittain Peck, a visual storytelling artist. He gave us some tips about how to draw such as using simple shapes for characters and their clothes. This helped speed up the process because instead of trying to draw a really complicated character I was able go from one character to another in no time. 

I used Sketchbook and ComicLife3 to create my comic. In Sketchbook, I was able to layer my characters and backgrounds so I didn’t have to draw them over and over again which was helpful. Also, in Sketchbook, the undo button saved me many times. ComicLife3 was very useful because it allowed me to choose what size I wanted the boxes for the comic and the shape of the speech bubbles. Also, I was able to choose the themes of each page so I could customize it easily. 

Overall, I think that the Wisdom Tales are very useful for learning about different cultures and their morals. The comic helped me show my artistic side and how much I understand the morals of the story. Comment what your favorite style of drawing is.

1 Comment on Wisdom Tales-The Tiger’s Whisker Comic

  1. 30bradleyf
    January 25, 2024 at 5:46 pm (3 months ago)

    I love your tiger drawing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply